© Georgia Metaxas

Photography Club Spring 2018

Photoworks and Royal Pavilion & Museums are teaming up again to offer a spring 2018 programme of Photography Club.

Photography Club is a fantastic opportunity for 13-16 year olds to meet regularly, develop their camera skills, produce photographs for an exhibition and gain an Arts Award certificate. This time activities will be inspired by the Gluck: Art & Identity exhibition at Brighton Museum & Art Gallery that explores the life and work of the 20th century artist who is now recognised as a trailblazer of gender fluidity. For this programme we are keen to attract participants who identify as LGBTQ+ or U (unsure) and their friends.

The programme is led by artist/facilitator Lynn Weddle supported by youth ambassadors and will include practical workshops, visits to exhibitions and talks by curators. The programme will culminate in an exhibition of the participants’ work at Brighton Museum & Art Gallery in June/July and we will also link up with BFest (Brighton Youth Arts Festival) in May.

Photography Club is free of charge and cameras are provided for participants who do not have their own.

Participants are required to commit to the entire session programme. Please find dates/times/locations of all the spring sessions below.

SPRING 2018 SESSION PROGRAMME

1. 2-4pm, Wed 14 Feb
2. 4-6pm, Wed 28 Feb
3. 4-6pm, Wed 7 March
4. 4-6pm, Wed 21 March
5. All day, (times TBC) Wed 4 April
6. Half day – AM (times TBC), Thur 5 April
7. 4-6pm, Wed 18 April
8. 4-6pm, Wed 2 May1
9. 4-6pm, Wed 16 May
10. 4-6pm, Wed 23 May
11. All day, (times TBC) Mon 28 May

All sessions will take place at Brighton Museum & Art Gallery unless specified otherwise:

If you are a young person who identifies as LGBTQ+ or U (unsure) or are part of a LGBTQ+ family and interested in photography please get in touch asap.

Registration Deadline: Monday 5 February

please make sure you email chloe@photoworks.org.uk with the above details by this date.